Okay, I gotta admit, I’m pretty excited about the new Star Trek movie. I’m not a big J.J. Abrams fan, nor am I a big Star Trek fan, but from the new trailer, it looks like the new movie could be a really solid space epic. And of course, the reviews have been extremely favorable across the board.

I had some free time at the end of the day yesterday and found myself sketching Star Trek pics. I decided to mix together two of my favorite publicity shots.

KirkSpock

Here’s what I ended up with:

startrek_small

I really wanted to feel of the classic Star Trek to come across. My only regret is that I wasn’t able to fit in more of Kirk’s boxy captain’s chair. Damn that small piece of paper. Next time I should just draw on my big bristol board, get a more panoramic feel. Anyway, psyched about the new Trek. See you at the movies!