Recently I stumbled onto the artwork of Pieter Bruegel the Elder.

bruegel154c.jpg

I dunno. I think this might be one of the most beautiful illustrations I’ve ever seen. If anyone has a hi-res pic of this, I’d love to use it to make a print.

As for Bruegel, he was a Dutch or Flemish painter and printmaker who lived from 1525-1569. His paintings are equally beautiful, always with a lighting that’s both vibrant and somewhat muted. His renditions of the Tower of Babel are incredibly dramatic. One of my favorite Bruegel paintings is his Children’s Games.

bruegel.jpg

I’m not usually as taken with 16th century art as I am with more contemporary artists; I generally prefer the likes of Sol Lewitt, Franz Kline and Basquiat over, say, Quentin Massys. Okay, okay, so admittedly, I am a Caravaggio nut. Then again, who isn’t? But man, there’s a quality to Bruegel that’s undeniably crazy wonderful.

I mean, c’mon. That big fish pic. Ain’t that just about the best print ever?

