So I’m still learning how to computer color. I don’t quite have the hang of it yet, but here’s my latest little diddy. Wondering if anyone had any thoughts or suggestions.

midtown_merged_small.jpg

Instead of starting from a black and white image, I used a full color scan. I wanted to see what it was like to keep the paper texture. I don’t know if it helped or not. And then, instead of blocking out color, I threw a bunch of browns and oranges on the buildings and overlaid, color burned and saturated them like crazy. Same with the sky. The thing is, the subtle colors in the paper texture made things uneven. I couldn’t get the sky all blueish, it definitely changes color. And also, Photoshop couldn’t properly merge all those partially transparent burns and overlays. Anyone else have this problem? After flattening, the end result was quite different from the original layered image. Enough so that I had to rethink my approach, and instead of making the background vibrant, I muted it out (which I think is okay because it doesn’t compete with the foreground now. I’m still not sure what I think about it.

Oh, if anyone knows any websites that teaches computer coloring, I’d love the suggestions. Thanks!

