A little while ago I had a huge craving for ice-cream. The thing is, I’m slightly lactose intolerant. Luckily, I’d been hearing about this coconut-milk based ice-cream that Purely Decadent now makes. I walk by the grocery store on the way home, but it’s closed. So I stop into my local bodega. Unfortunately, the bodega’s only got regular ice-cream. I buy a pint of Ben and Jerry’s Macadamia Nut thinking I’ll just eat a little bit. I end up watching a lot of Benson on Hulu and eat the whole pint. The rest of the night my stomach is aching and my head is pounding. The next morning I wake up still with an achey head.

icecreamA couple days later, I swing the grocery store. I pick up a pint of the Chocolate flavored coconut-milk based ice-cream and eat it in front of some Family Guy. I don’t know what’s wrong with me these days, but once again I eat the whole pint. But MAN, was it good. There was a slight coconut taste, but it was really slight (and I didn’t mind because I like coconut). Mostly it tasted like a semi-dark chocolate ice-cream. Really wonderfully creamy, just like ice-cream rather than sorbet. And is creamier than most Soy based ice-creams I’ve had and certainly better than the Rice Milk based ice-creams. The best part is, no nasty head or stomach aches. Anyone with a hankerin’ for ice-cream but is lactose intolerant, I highly recommend this option. I hope it becomes more popular in the next few years.

I’m visiting San Francisco right now. I picked up a pint of Mango sorbet. It’s been lasting me a few days. Just now I realized that sorbet usually lasts me a couple days. I don’t know why I feel compelled to eat a whole container of ice-cream all at once. I guess it must be the texture. Anyway, again, give the coconut stuff a try, it’s a wonderful ice-cream alternative.

