I’ve been a Dan The Automator fan for ages, back to the Dr. Octagon days, but it was the first Handsome Boy Modeling School CD that really got me. And absolutely loved the Deltron 3030 album as well. So a bit ago, my little sister says that they’re releasing a Deltron Event II CD, and that they’ll be doing a free show at Stern Grove (in San Francisco). I’m super-psyched about this. Unfortunately, we get there late, find an uncomfortable area to sit on the hill, can’t really see, and the audio is pretty bad where we are. But it’s still obvious that the album is gonna be awesome. I mean, awesome.

Just a day or two after that, I get contacted by a friend who’s in touch with Dan the Automator. He says Dan wants to make a small card deck about his life, something to give away at San Diego Comic-Con. He asks if I’m interested in illustrating for it, says the deadline is really quick. Of course, I say, “Yeah.”

I get assigned the Handsome Boy card. Here’s the illustration.

Image

And here’s how the deck finally came together.

Image

Image

I hope Dan, Kid Koala, and Del like the way it came together, and especially hope the panel went well. Wish I coulda been at San Diego this year.

My little sis doesn’t know about my participation in this deck yet. I had a hard time deciding whether to tell her right away or to surprise her–decided on the second. I’m gonna see her in a week. I’m hoping I get my deck in the mail soon. I’d love to give it to her as a small present.

Rock rock. Looking way forward to Deltron Event II. Three-thousand forty, baby!

