Some time ago, my good friend Opus and I went to see David Byrne at the Radio City Music Hall. Byrne was kicking off his Everything That Happens Will Happen Today tour. After the show, we got to meet one of the dancers. A couple weeks later, we all hung out again after their taping at The Colbert Report. And at the end of that summer, there was another performance, a free one in Prospect Park.

This set of shows, and the small gatherings around it, felt really great–really warm. I’d always wanted to pay some kind of homage to that. More recently, I finished a painting. This is the largest one I’ve done–4′ x 6′–I’m pretty happy with it.

If you haven’t picked up Everything That Happens Will Happen Today, I highly recommend it. It’s become one of my favorite albums in no time flat, and the song Life Is Long is absolutely beautiful.

I’ve gotta give Opus, his friend Mark, and Natalie huge shout-outs for making this series of performances such a good time for me.